Collection..

I think I will start documenting my ever-growing Lord of the Rings collection!

The thought came to me to start this the other day as I was adding day 16 to a 30 day photo challenge on Instagram. On this day, the subject was “closet.” Being as my closet is in fact the habitat of the majority of my LOTR collection, I had already posted a couple photos of it to my Instagram. So instead, I just took a couple close-ups of a few items I have in it. Those few items are what this post will be concerning. First, here’s a snapshot of my closet in full-view:

Image

First item of focus: Gollum/SmΓ©agol action figure

Image

This Toy-Biz figurine of Gollum comes with/on a giant rock with two buttons on either side, which, when pressed, have 22 different phrases from the films. It also comes with interchangeable Gollum/SmΓ©agol heads (one happy, one angry) πŸ˜› and a juicy, sweet fish! I honestly cannot remember when or where I got this, or from who. That will likely be the same with most of the following items as well, as I’ve had them since I was just a kid. This also being the reason most of my collectables no longer have their original cases :/

Treebeard, and Merry & Pippin action figures

Image

This Treebeard is AWESOME! And I actually do remember being at Target with my mom and younger brother, us (or maybe just me) begging her to buy this Treebeard. Miraculously, she did! He stands about 15 inches in height, has individual bending fingers and other branches or joints, and best of all, by pushing a stump on his head, he’ll grunt a good handful of phrases from The Two Towers πŸ˜‰ His eyes light up and mouth moves, as well. And, Hobbits fit nicely on his branches or in his hands. It’s perfect!

These Merry & Pippin action figures did not come with Treebeard; they each came separately. Merry came in a double pack with the Orc, GrishnΓ‘kh, and Pippin came with the Uruk-hai, UglΓΊk. And I do remember recieving the two of these packs from my Dad, Christmas of 2002.

1977 The Hobbit/LOTR box-set, and Eleventy-First Birthday Bilbo!

Image

The Bilbo came solely with figure himself, and his speech pedestal barrel! I remember not where or when or from whom I received it. The books, however, were given to me by a brother in-law. It’s a beautiful set, unfortunately all of the covers but the Two Towers have fallen off.. somehow. They’re in pretty good condition other than that (aside from the Hobbit, which is in a bit worse condition.) I don’t really use these prints for reading, but more so just for collecting.

Well, that’s it for now! I have much, much, MUCH more, of course. But I’m tired, and not quite sure if I have any more good photos at the moment. I hope you enjoyed! Feel free to leave a comment if you have a question or would just like to share/comment on something πŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “Collection..

  1. Hey! It’s Olivia (@valinor on Instagram)! πŸ™‚

    I was just wanted to say it’s a brillant idea that you opened your blog to share with us your collection, drawings and LOTR interest.

    You are so lucky to go to NZ by the end of the year. I wish I could come with you and meet all the other guys. I have never met any other LOTR fans and I’m sure this trip will be unforgettable…

    I hope you will post many, many pictures as possible!
    Until then, I’m adding your blog link to my “Middle Earth” list!

    1. Hey Olivia! Thanks for visiting here and for your interest & support. πŸ™‚ I must say your blog is SO beautiful! unfortunately, as you likely know, I can’t read French, but your photos are amazing enough!

      I am beyond excited for New Zealand, I still can’t believe I’m actually going. I wish you were able to come too (maybe some day!); it would be so awesome to meet you and share that experience. I don’t really know any huge LOTR fans in real life either, so I’m excited for that as well. And, I will literally take thousands of photos, and post as much as I can online. πŸ˜€
      thanks again for the comment!

Leave a Reply

