Valentine’s Day LOTR Marathon!

Matt & I celebrated our fourth Valentine’s Day together by having a good ol’ Lord of the Rings Marathon πŸ™‚ (extended editions, of course, that *should* go without saying). This year, we planned to have one sometime in January or February because Matt couldn’t make it to the annual Trilogy showing at my local theater — I’ve gone every year since 2006! I thought having an LOTR marathon would be the perfect way to spend our valentine’s day, we get to relax, eat food, and spend the whole day together doing something we both enjoy!

For our food, I planned a 7-course Hobbit menu! I’ve done this a few other times, but I think this was the first time I’ve gotten somebody else to partake in it with me. :3

Our day started with Matt saying, “You want to put the first disc in while I get first-breakfast started?” At that moment I had a face like :O as I realized and said in a whisper, “…I forgot the movies…!” I can’t believe I forgot the movies at my house… I had put so much planning into the Hobbit meals & my aunt’s wedding (which I photographed the day before), that I forgot the most important part of the marathon!

He immediately offered to drive back to my house and get the movies, while I started breakfast. :3 First on the menu was roasted potatoes & sausages!

_MG_9148

IMG_8472
A Hobbity breakfast if I do say so myself!

When Matt returned about 40 minutes later with the films, he helped me finish breakfast & make a cake for much later, then we started The Fellowship of the Ring, disc 1!

Sometime after the prologue, while they were still in the Shire, we got our Second Breakfast ready — some hearty, delicious oatmeal.

_MG_9153

Forgetting the movies set us back at least an hour, and we weren’t originally going to have Elevenses AT 11, because that would have been too early for us to have had 2 breakfasts prior… so we had our Elevenses, which was mixed fruit, around 2pm.

IMG_8474
CANTALOUPE

Matt: “You look a little crazy.”
Me: “Maybe I am!”
I love cantaloupe, LOTR, and my boyfriend! πŸ˜‰

FOTR ended around 3:30 pm, and we started The Two Towers right away!! It was also during TTT when we began this freaking awesome puzzle I found a while ago!

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

After disc 2 of The Two Towers, we broke out our Luncheon (really more of a snack), my pickled cucumbers! I was so excited to have made my own pickles! Haha πŸ˜€ I used this simple recipe from Middle-earth Recipes.

_MG_9160

Afternoon tea was actually around 5pm – we had Good Earth’s Sweet & Spicy tea — delicious! Matt & I both really like it, and we’re not tea drinkers, especially him, but this one really is good. We used our matching “Second Breakfast is the best breakfast” mugs. πŸ™‚

IMG_8477

We spent most of our time while watching The Two Towers, and some of Return of the King, working on the puzzle. It was an extra fun way to keep occupied while sitting in front of the TV all day. Because obviously watching LOTR is fun enough, the awesome puzzle was just extra! By the end of the day, we had a good majority finished, but alas, it’s still not complete, so you don’t get a full picture of it. :/

IMG_8476
Frodo & Sam in Minas Morgul in the background!

Before starting the second disc of Return of the King, we prepared our Dinner: a tasty caprese salad! We both love this meal. I was complaining about it being all mushy, so Matt teased me about it not looking good for my photo. XD Which, it doesn’t look the greatest, but it was still delicious.

_MG_9166

As Frodo & Sam were nearing the end of their journey, we prepared our final dish –“Supper”, which was actually dessert! We made “Bilbo’s Spice Cake,”Β another lovely recipe IΒ found on Middle-earth Recipes, accompanied by some delectable warm spiced milk. Haha, it was funny to think everything we were drinking in the milk was also in the cake. They were basically the same thing minus the cake part. XD

_MG_9162

We topped our spice cake with powdered sugar, and agreed we’d likely make this one again sometime!

Well, that concludes our Hobbit meals for the day. We observedΒ the joyous aftermath of the War of the Ring, and thus it was,Β our evening came to an end. It was a truly awesome valentine’s day spent with my best friend, and I’m not afraid to tell the world how much I love & appreciate him. πŸ™‚ I also can’t wait until December to watch the extended Trilogy at the theater again!!!

P.S. I hope whoever ends up reading this had a wonderful valentine’s day as well — remember not to take it too seriously, just being in the company ofΒ your love is what matters most. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

